Dian Meechai’s debut album Stormy Weather is a celebratory blend of Christmas music, jazz standards and classical arias. The album is divided into two sections, Christmas Cocktails and Sunday Service. Each section reflects the various spirits of the holiday season.

Christmas Cocktails begins the festivities with familiar jazz songs such as “The Way You Look Tonight” and “They Can’t Take That Away From Me.” Listeners are invited to dance “Cheek to Cheek” with a loved one, cozy up to the sentimental sounds of “Christmas Time is Here” and “Over the Rainbow,” or take a spirited turn to the groovy “Santa Baby.”

For Sunday Service, the mood becomes more intimate as the drummer and bassist step away. Dian transports the listener to their own personal recital with holiday classics such as "Silent Night" and "O Holy Night." By including sweet arias such as "Mesicku na nebi hlubokém," she creates a scene reminiscent to those found in the novels of Jane Austen.

“The holiday season is my favorite time of year,” Dian says. “I hope to bring some of my mushy spirit into your home.”

Dian is accompanied on Stormy Weather by renowned jazz pianist Dan Zemelman, drummer Greg Wyser-Pratte, and bassist Mike Bordelon.


Christmas Cocktails

1. Cheek to Cheek
2. Christmas Time is Here
3. Stormy Weather
4. The Way You Look Tonight
5. Over The Rainbow
6. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
7. Santa Baby

Sunday Service
8. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
9. Silent Night
10. Ave Maria
11. Mesicku na nebi hlubokém
12. Deh vieni non tardar
13. O Holy Night


Copyright 2013, Dian S. Meechai